Standing Rock!

 

I took my money out of a bank and put it in a credit union. Didn’t feel like enough though. I reposted everything I saw about the conflict. I argued. I fumed. Didn’t feel like enough.

I am beyond happy that the pipeline has been stopped. It’s been eating my mind. I’ve been remembering school, when we learned about all the broken treaties. I remember waiting to hear that we did something to make it better. I remember waiting to hear something that made any kind of sense.  I’ve been remembering growing up on the Klamath River amongst Karuk and Hoopa people and not having an answer when accused of stealing their land. What do you say?

I still am not sure what to say. I have only this poem to offer:

No More Nowhere Nobody

 a blood red light stretches

reflecting across the cement

warning of my arrival

whispering my name

charged to undo Manifest Destiny

charged to recall Manifest Destiny

Hear me now John O’Sullivan

Do the dead fear ghosts living?

hear me now – hear that sound

I arrive by train

charged to erase Manifest Destiny

charged to reverse Manifest Destiny

our reflections spread thin

metal buildings rise up defiant

money buys everything nothing

Hear me now I whisper

my ghost name – Sullivan

charged to smash Manifest Destiny

charged to smite Manifest Destiny

our paper blood money

smells of corpses rotting

stains our hands unwashed

Hear me now John O’Sullivan

fear that we share this name

charged to undo Manifest Destiny

charged to ridicule Manifest Destiny

charged to discourage Manifest Destiny

charged to untie Manifest Destiny

charged to implode Manifest Destiny

charged to dismantle Manifest Destiny

charged to rewrite Manifest Destiny

charged to eulogize Manifest Destiny

Hear me now John O’Sullivan

I stand paler than a ghost

thin in my inheritance

whispering my name

it warns of my arrival

charged to end Destiny Manifest

charged to eulogize Manifest Destiny

charged to end Destiny

end – finis

Leave a Reply

