“What’s wrong?”

“Nothing.”

“You should never lie to a friend.”

“What if that friend asks if you like his drawing and you don’t?”

“Nope.”

“What if his breath smells bad?”

“Say so.”

“I just can’t figure out,” I said, “why my imaginary friend is a girl.”

“Imaginary friend! Is that what you think I am?”

“Aren’t you?”

“That’s what you think?!” she screamed.

I searched for my voice.

“OK.” Mary stood. “Imagine me then!” She vanished. 

I realized I still pretended to hold a cigar, so I set it down. I focused my imagination on making Mary return, but no matter how hard I tried she remained gone. I only achieved giving myself a headache.

 

Leave a Reply

