goodbye

We stood in silence. 

“This sucks.”she said.

I sighed.“Yeah.”

As I gave her a hug, I raised up as tall as I could, so as to reassure her that everything would be OK.

“Thank you, Johnny Caution.”

“I’ll see you when I see you,” I said bravely.“And I really mean what I said.”

“That you will protect me if I am in trouble?”

“I will.”

“That makes it sound like you’re my dad.”

We both giggled, but stopped abruptly. Mary hugged me, quick and tight, before turning and running off. 

 

Leave a Reply

