the end of part one

“I no longer have fear?” 

“I’ll give it back after tomorrow. You will need it again.”

I gave no reply. None of this made sense, but I also did not doubt Mr. King.

“You should run home now,” the man said. “It has gotten dark.”

I looked around and saw that night had enveloped us. After thanking the man, I began walking home, but not in any hurry. I planned out the speech I would give my mother on how I wanted to confront the bully instead of asking the principal to intervene, because I must learn to deal with the obstacles life presents. My mother would like that.

And not a word about the boxing lessons.

 

Leave a Reply

